Broward Mayor’s "Year of the Neighbor" Results in Tri-County State Legislative Compact

Year of the Neighbor logo

DATE: April 8, 2013
MEDIA CONTACT: Kimberly Maroe, Public Information Manager
Broward County Commission
PHONE: 954-357-8053

Broward, Miami-Dade and Palm Beach counties have joined to sign the Southeast Florida Tri-County State Legislative Compact. The Compact will advance shared initiatives in the South Florida Region by representing three County Commission Boards, and creating a regional policy agenda that impacts more than five million residents.

“This Compact was a bipartisan collaboration between all three commission boards. It’s refreshing that so many leaders can come together, regardless of party affiliation, and make a commitment to work together for the betterment of the larger community,” said Broward County Mayor Kristin Jacobs.

“As a Tri-County Region we represent a population larger than 28 states, and the issues we are tackling, like transportation, weather resiliency, Everglades restoration and elections reform, go beyond County lines,” said Mayor Jacobs.

It’s this type of collaborative leadership that Jacobs had in mind when she named 2013 as the “Year of the Neighbor” in Broward County.

“Instead of focusing on the wedges that drive us apart, we should focus on the diverse principles and beliefs that bring us together,” said Mayor Jacobs in announcing the "Year of the Neighbor."

This isn’t the first time the region has come together for a greater cause. The Southeast Florida Regional Climate Change Compact, signed by Broward, Miami-Dade, Palm Beach and Monroe county commissions, unified the Southeast Florida community on issues of climate change and has earned national recognition since its inception in 2009.

The Tri-County State Legislative Compact is another step towards regional thinking and working together for the betterment of the entire South Florida community.
Release Properties