Broward County Historical Commission Celebrates 40th Annual Pioneer Day Event

DATE: September 26, 2012
PHONE: 954-357-5553

The Broward County Historical Commission is celebrating four decades of honoring Broward County pioneers at its 40th Annual Pioneer Day Event, to be held on October 20, 2012. The Broward County Board of County Commissioners and the Broward County Historical Commission will join the City of Oakland Park and the Oakland Park Historical Society in co-sponsoring this event. The co-hosts have proudly arranged to hold the celebration beginning at 2 p.m. at the Oakland Park Elementary School, 936 NE 33rd Street, Oakland Park, Florida. The Pioneer Recognition Ceremony will be held in the beautifully renovated auditorium. The Oakland Park Elementary School is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is the oldest operating school in Broward County. The public is welcome at this free event.

The Broward County Historical Commission is pleased to announce that 29 men and women have been selected as Broward County Pioneers. They will join a distinguished group of over 2,000 other Pioneers the Commission has honored since the beginning of the program. The following is the list of those individuals who will be recognized and the historical groups or municipalities who have selected them for this honor.

Pioneer/Nominated By                                                    
Dr. Claire M. Crawford, Broward County Historical Commission
William G. Crawford, Jr., Broward County Historical Commission
Ira B. Rubinstein, Oakland Park Historical Society
Andrew E. Buchta, Oakland Park Historical Society
Dennis A. Buchta, Oakland Park Historical Society
Merceda Edwards Dykes, Oakland Park Historical Society
Robert A. McCarty, Jr., Oakland Park Historical Society
Robert W. Holmes, Black Historical Society
James L. Jones, Black Historical Society
Darcia B. Drago, Broward County Retired Educators’ Association
Bob Fleischer, City of Cooper City
Vincent J. Costa, Coral Springs Historical Advisory Committee
Sandra L. Costa, Coral Springs Historical Advisory Committee
Richard A. McCall, Davie Historical Society
Paul H. Wunderlich, Davie Historical Society
Martha L. Butler, Deerfield Beach Historical Society
Margaret Haynie Birch, Elder’s Council African-American Research Cultural Library & Cultural Center
Samuel F. Morrison, Fort Lauderdale Historical Society
Teresa B. Sjogren, Fort Lauderdale Historical Society
Jerry A. Dobak, City of Hallandale Beach
Maudie L. James, City of Hallandale Beach
Robert C. Scott, Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Historical Association
Charles W. Byron, Parkland Historical Society
Herman Freedman, Pembroke Pines Museum
Dr. Helen R. Ackerman, Plantation Historical Society
Emma R. Sheaffer, Southwest Ranches Historical Society
Simon Lewenberg, City of Sunrise
Dorothy K. Willis, Tamarac Historical Society
Virginia Pearce, Wilton Manors Historical Society

The award-winning Broward County Libraries Division, founded in 1974, is the ninth largest library system in the nation by population served and one of the busiest, with more than 9 million walk-in customers visiting its 37 locations annually. The library has more than 3.4 million items and 2,000 computers for public use and offers hundreds of events and programs to meet the needs of the Broward County's diverse community. In addition to our comprehensive website,, which provides information about library activities, links to online catalogs, reference information and databases, customers can visit BCL WoW – Broward County Library Without Walls – for free eBooks, music, audiobooks, apps and more. Customers may also follow Libraries on Facebook and Twitter. Libraries Division also administers the services, programs, collections and exhibits of the Historical Commission.

Release Properties