Agriculture and Other Local Businesses May be Eligible for Disaster Relief Assistance
- Broward County included in SBA cold weather disaster declaration -
DATE: April 30, 2012
MEDIA CONTACT: Chuck Lanza, Director
Broward County Emergency Management

PHONE: 954-831-3901

Broward County is one of 12 Florida counties included in a Small Business Administration (SBA) disaster area declaration following frost and freezing temperatures that occurred January 3-16, 2012.
The declaration provides for working capital loans to help small businesses, small agricultural cooperatives and small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private, nonprofit organizations of all sizes to meet their ordinary and necessary obligations that cannot be met as a direct result of the disaster. The application filing deadline is December 20, 2012.

"This disaster declaration from SBA means that small businesses and those in the agricultural industry impacted by January's cold weather can apply for low interest loans to help recover from losses," said Chuck Lanza, director of the Broward County Emergency Management Division.

According to SBA, businesses of any size and nonprofit organizations may borrow up to $2 million at a maximum interest of 4 percent to help alleviate economic injury caused by the disaster. The actual amount of each loan is limited to the economic injury determined by SBA. Only uninsured or otherwise uncompensated disaster losses are eligible.

Primary counties named in the SBA disaster area declaration are Hendry, Nassau and Palm Beach. Contiguous counties included in the declaration are Broward, Baker, Collier, Lee, Duval, Martin, Charlotte, Glades and Okeechobee.

For more information, call SBA's Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955, email, or visit SBA's website,

Two U.S. Small Business Administration informational fact sheets are attached, below.

Release Properties