Broward County Consolidated Communications Committee on
a Fast Track to Recommend a Consolidated Emergency 9-1-1
and Dispatch Communications System
DATE: November 17, 2011
MEDIA CONTACT: Judy Sarver, Director, Office of Public Communications
PHONE: 954-357-6990

The Broward County Commission and the Broward County League of Cities jointly established the Broward County Consolidated Communications Committee and have set March 1, 2012 as the deadline to recommend a solution to the decades-long struggle to consolidate emergency 9-1-1 call taking and dispatch. The Committee was chosen in cooperation with the Fire Chiefs Association of Broward County, Broward County Chiefs of Police Association, Public Safety Committee of the Broward League of Cities, Broward City/County Managers Association, and the Fire-Rescue Services Council. Broward County Commissioner Lois Wexler and Sunrise Mayor Michael Ryan are co-chairs of the committee.

The Committee held its first meeting last week and established three task forces: Governance, Operations and Funding which held their first meetings today at the County EOC in Plantation. Recommendations from each of the three task forces are due to the full committee on January 16, 2012. The Governance Task Force will examine the legal structure, management and governing board membership; the Operations Task Force will develop performance metrics, operational policies and procedures and address technical issues; the Funding Task Force will review alternative funding mechanisms including cost sharing and budget development.

“We have a very aggressive schedule,” stated Commissioner Wexler. “Commissioner LaMarca and I are serving on the Governance and Funding Task Forces and so we will be meeting just about weekly. This is a huge issue, and we are both very pleased to be part of finding the solution.”

The full membership of the Broward County Consolidated Communications Committee includes:

Lois Wexler, County Commissioner (Co-Chair)
Mike Ryan, Sunrise Mayor (Co-Chair)
Mike Burton, Tamarac Fire Rescue Chief
George Brummer, Pompano Beach Commissioner
Joy Cooper, Hallandale Beach Mayor
Neal de Jesus, Broward Sheriff Fire Rescue Chief
Charlie Dodge, Pembroke Pines City Manager
Dave Donzella, Lighthouse Point Fire Rescue Chief
Keith Dunn, Miramar Police Chief
Debbie Eisinger, Cooper City Mayor
Nabil El Sandi, MD
Chuck Faranda, Lauderhill City Manager
Burgess Hanson, Deerfield Beach City Manager
Chip LaMarca, Broward County Commissioner
Al Lamberti, Broward County Sheriff
Richard Lemack, Davie City Manager
Mike Mann, Coconut Creek Police Chief
Paul O’Connell, Wilton Manors Police Chief
Tom Powers, Coral Springs Commissioner
Bruce Roberts, Fort Lauderdale Commissioner
John Stunson, Oakland Park City Manager
Chadwick E. Wagner, Hollywood Police Chief

Release Properties